Winds of Memories

Hither they come, the winds carrying memories,

They gently brush against my skin making me feel heavenly.

I close my eyes and embrace the breeze,

And let it strum the tender strings of bliss.

 

O Wind! You carry the memories of my childhood,

Whisper in my ears the rhapsody of my boyhood.

You make me fly to the land buried in past,

To behold the age’s innocent dance.

 

My  satchel was my treasure box,

Had my greedy eyes on my friend’s lunch box.

School’s playground was my paradise,

That was the place on which I wanted to live and die.

 

Friends were the angels of that heaven,

Sometimes our fights became ugly like cawing of ravens.

The mortal bodies got hurt, not the immortal souls,

Because our fights were for untainted goals.

 

I was called innocent devil,

Because childhood is naughty, not evil.

I used to swim care-freely in the brooks of ecstasy,

And gallop carelessly through meadows heavenly.

For I knew I was safe like oyster inside the shell,

Because I had Mommy and Daddy as Guardian Angels.

 

Come come thou winds carrying memories,

You vanquish melancholy from my sensory.

I hear those forgotten mellifluous lullabies,

Which flood with euphoria my heart’s chalice.

 

You carry the memories when I was a lover,

In my body was caged the soul of Homer.

Ballads used to incessantly emanate from my heart,

Just like those white nectar dive down the waterfall.

 

O unseen Wind! When she wasn’t around, you swallowed all my  distress,

Because you brought with yourself the ethereal aroma of my mistress.

In her absence I filled each minute of my life with forty long sighs,

In her presence I found my conscience drowning in the pool of intoxicated wine.

 

Under the night sky I spent myriad sleepless nights,

My heart always craved for her to be at my side.

The soothing night breeze tried to vaporize my sweet pain,

But my heart was a wayward brat, it didn’t listen any counsel.

 

Now I am standing in the present,

When the two beautiful ages had bid me farewell,

Life is full of worries and humongous tensions.

These memories are which alleviate my haggard soul,

Give me a shelter in this adulthood’s rough storm.

 

Hither they come, the winds carrying memories,

They gently brush against my skin making me feel heavenly.

I close my eyes and embrace the breeze,

And let it strum the tender strings of bliss.

-Shekhar

 

 

 

 

Author: shekharsmarmy

Aspire to become a writer

2 thoughts on “Winds of Memories”

  1. The poem is very good. But in my view try to make it short not by deleting ideas rather by compressing the lines. And rhythm is another factor that should match with the flow of emotion.. try to focus. After all follow a poetic form like lyric, ballad, ode,sonnet etc.and write. Your ideas are outstanding. If expression becomes a bit more matured you will be in the front line. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

